retour à la salle de lecture

Philip K. Dick


He was born in the USA in 1928. His twin sister Jane died in infancy. He started his writing career publishing short stories in magazines. The first of these was 'Beyond Lies the Wub' in 1952. During the 1960s he produced an extraordinary succession of novels, of which award winners. In the 1970s, he started to concern himself more directly with metaphysical and theological issues. He experienced a breakdown in March 1974 which became the basis for much of his subsequent writing. He died in 1982, just before the release of the movie Blade Runner, based on his novel 'Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?' which helped introduce his work to a wider audience. Part of his literary production has been published after his death.


Solar Lottery (1955)
The World Jones Made (1956)
The Man Who Japed (1956)
The Cosmic Puppets (1957)
Eye in the Sky (1957)
Dr. Futurity (1959)
Time Out of Joint (1959)
Vulcan's Hammer (1960)
The Man in the High Castle (1962)
The Game-Players of Titan (1963)
The Penultimate Truth (1964)
The Simulacra (1964)
Martian Time Slip (1964)
Clans of the Alphane Moon (1964)
Dr. Bloodmoney, or How We Got Along After the Bomb (1965)
The Three Stigamata of Palmer Eldritch (1965)
The Ganymede Takeover (w/ Ray F. Nelson) (1967)
Now Wait for Last Year (1966)
The Crack in Space (1966)
The Zap Gun (1967)
Counter-Clock World (1967)
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (later titled: Blade Runner) (1968)
Ubik (1969)
Galactic Pot-Healer (1969)
Our Friends From Frolix 8 (1970)
A Maze of Death (1970)
We Can Build You (1972)
Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said (1974)
Confessions of a Crap Artist (1975)
Deus Irae (w/ Roger Zelazny) (1976)
A Scanner Darkly (1977)
The Divine Invasion (1981)
Valis (1981)
The Transmigration of Timothy Archer (1982)
Lies, Inc. (later titled: The Unteleported Man) (1984)
The Man Whose Teeth Were All Exactly Alike (1984)
Puttering About in A Small Land (1985)
In Milton Lumky Territory (1985)
Radio Free Albemuth (1985)
Humpty Dumpty in Oakland (1986)
Mary and the Giant (1987)
The Broken Bubble (1988)

Short story collections:
The Variable Man (1957)
A Handful of Darkness (1966)
The Preserving Machine
The Turning Wheel (1977)
The Book of Philip K. Dick (1977)
The Golden Man (1980)

Collected Stories of PKD:
1. Beyond Lies the Wub (1987)
2. Second Variety (1987)
3. The Father Thing (1987)
4. The Days of Perky Pat (1987)
5. We Can Remember It For You Wholesale (1987)

haut de la page
retour à la salle de lecture